Email Exchange – September 28, 2011

On September 28, 2011, Appiukko emailed me the following:

Moi Diana!

Kiitos syntymapaiva onnitteluista.Mukava kun “muistutitte” minua vanhenimisesta.

Oletko jo aloittanut suomen opiskelun taas kesanjalkeen?Vastaan nain kun en

ole facebookin ystava,luen kuitenki mita te kirjoittelette heh.

Paljon kaikkea hyvaa teille!

ps.day oli ihana

T:Appiukko

In order to be able to “understand” his email, I used online translator and this is what I got:

Hi Diana!

Thanks to syntymapaiva for his kind words. Nice when you reminded me of vanhenimisesta.

Have you already started the Finnish study, on the other hand, kesanjalkeen? Against the nain when I ystava, I read there was no Facebook mita you kirjoittelette heh.

Much everything hyvaa you!

PS. the day was wonderful

T:Appiukko

This is my response to Appiukko:

Moi, Appiukko

I am so happy you had a nice birthday! I wish we could have been there to celebrate with you. I am starting my Finnish lessons again soon, but this time I am going to try to learn on my own, maybe I will learn better that way instead of in a class setting. I hope to be able to speak to you in Finnish one day!

Love!

Diana

In order for Appiukko to be able to “understand” my email, he used online translator and this is what he got:

Moi, Appiukko

Olen niin iloinen, oli mukavaa syntymäpäivää! Toivon, että olisimme voineet siellä juhlia kanssanne. Olen alkanut Suomen oppitunteja pian uudelleen, mutta tällä kertaa aion yrittää oppia omasta, ehkä oppii paremmin näin sijaan luokan ympäristössä. Toivon puhua Suomen yhdessä päivässä!

Rakkaus!

Diana

For English speakers, this is what Appiukko actually read

Hi There, My Father-in-law Snowman

I’m so glad you had a nice birthday! I hope that we could have been there to celebrate with you. I’ve started the Finnish lessons soon again, but this time I’m going to try and learn on their own, perhaps on the other hand, the class learns better in this environment. I hope to speak Finnish in one day!

Love!

Diana

“I hope to speak Finnish in one day!” Wow! Now that’s ambitious! OH…and where did “Snowman” come from??? Thanks, online translator!

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

