OMG, we’re moving to FINLAND!!

Helsinki Rooftops

After three fun-filled weeks in Finland this summer, Wife and I parted ways. Before leaving New York, Wife had been offered a 5 week directing job in Helsinki which would start at the end of our vacation. The entire time in Finland, we were trying to come up with excuses as to why I also had to stay, but this little three letter word – J O B – kept ruining our plans. With a heavy heart and dried out tear ducts, I boarded the FinnAir flight and returned to New York and to the J O B that kept me from staying in my favorite country with Wife.

Since 2009, I’ve been dreaming of moving to Finland. My wish would finally come true in January 2013 thanks to Wife’s visa expiring shortly thereafter in February.

While in Finland this summer, Wife and I had agreed that if a project were to present itself before January, we would consider moving earlier. Well, who would’ve thought that on Wednesday, July 25, 2012, Wife would call me at 6:00 am EST telling me she had gotten an offer from a Finnish production company to direct a Finnish cooking show; the project would last 6 months and would start mid-September of this year.

“How would you feel about moving to Finland a little sooner than planned?” Wife asked. “I have a meeting with them on Monday to discuss the details, but if all looks good should I take it?” “Of course you should take it! Just ask where you should sign!” I said.

As my work alarm was going off, I lay in bed replaying the conversation Wife and I had just had. OH MY GOD, we could actually be moving to Finland in less than two months!

Unfortunately, we would need to wait four stressful days until we would find out the specifics. In the meantime, I took it upon myself to make about 20 different “to do “ lists consisting of everything from writing my letter of resignation to renting an apartment in Helsinki. That weekend, I began to strip down our New York City apartment. I got rid of half my books; the other half, about 85 lbs worth, were packed in a suitcase and carry-on bag and taken to Finland by one of our friends that was returning home that Sunday.

Other friends in Finland were busy thinking of ways to help us get an apartment, get us furniture, find me a job – I mean they were thinking of everything! I can’t say it enough; we seriously have the best friends EVER!

Helsinki Harbor

After four sleepless nights, Monday finally arrived. Wife’s meeting was scheduled for 11:30 am Finland time (4:30 am EST). Thinking the meeting would take about an hour, I had set my alarm for 5:30 am EST in case I might actually be asleep when Wife called (who was I kidding?!). At 4:49 am EST my phone rang. “Unknown” came up on the caller ID instead of Wife’s name, but who else would be calling at that time?!  “Start packing, we’re moving to Finland the week of September 10th!” Wife said. I couldn’t believe it! My dream had come true, we were moving to Finland!

Thanks to one of our great Finnish friends who tipped off Wife of a possible short-term apartment available in Kallio, we had an apartment four days later. Now, all I had to do was mentally prepare myself to tell my boss I was moving to Finland way sooner than expected!

Everything happened so fast…Wife got a great job, we had an apartment in Helsinki, and I resigned from my job…all within a week! All I could think about was, “OMG, we’re moving to FINLAND!!”

Stay tuned for all the crazy preparations!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

