Email Exchange – April 7, 2011

On April 7, 2011, Appiukko emailed me the following:

Appiukko tassa moi!

OMG tomorrow it’s FRIDAY jes,and jes weekkend!

Mita meinaatte tehda vaimon kanssa viikonloppuna,viinia ja hyvaa ruokaa?

Terveisin Appiukko

In order to be able to “understand” his email, I used online translator and this is what I got:

Father-in-law ukko tassa moi!

OMG tomorrow its FRIDAY ISA., and ISA. weekkend!

Mita meinaatte tehda with the viinia of the fine and the food at the weekend, hyvaa?

Compliments Father-in-law ukko

This is my response to Appiukko:

Moi, Appiukko!

Guess what? I started Finnish classes yesterday! I’m taking them every week. Soon enough, I will be able to write to you without using online translator!

Yes, tomorrow is Friday! It’s our eight months wedding anniversary so we will have a lot of wine and good food!

Miss you lots. I can’t wait to go back to Finland! I hope it’s soon!

Hugs and kisses,

Diana

In order for Appiukko to be able to “understand” my email, he used online translator and this is what he got:

Hei, Appiukko!

Arvaa mitä? Aloitin Suomalaisia ​​kokemuksia eilen! Minä kun niitä joka viikko! Pian tarpeeksi, en voi kirjoittaa ilman online-kääntäjä!

Kyllä, huomenna on perjantai! Ja kahdeksan kuukautta hääpäivä, joten siellä on paljon viiniä ja hyvää ruokaa!

Kaipaan sinua paljon. En voi odottaa palata Suomessa! Toivottavasti se on pian!

Halauksia ja suukkoja

Diana

For English speakers, this is what Appiukko actually read

Hey man, the Father-in-law!

Guess what? I started the Finnish experiments yesterday! I when every week! Soon enough, I can not write without online translator!

Yes, tomorrow is Friday! And eight months of the wedding day, so there is a lot of wine and good food!

I miss you a lot. I can not wait to return to Finland! I hope it’s soon!

Hugs and kisses,

Diana

“Finnish experiments” really??? Thanks, online translator!

4 comments

  1. Anonymous

    Hehe….. I was laughing so hard on a train that I got tears in my eyes. This will be fun to read. Can’t wait the next blog 🙂

  2. Michel DuBois

    Very finny!

    Seriously, I’ve been living odd google translate (also an iPhone app) since I only spoke french and Italian and some vacation Spanish before I met Juan.

    Between his very specific English level and my comfort learning languages, we speak only Spanish together and somehow it works.

    Granted, I don’t hold many philosophical discussions with him, but I have friends for that!

    Good luck w your finish experiments!

Leave a Reply

