The Day I Officially Became an Honorary Finn – Wedding Day

 

The wedding festivities began on Monday, August 2, 2010 when my future Finnish family arrived in New York. Unfortunately, I still had to work through that Wednesday, so I couldn’t partake in all the fun things Future Wife had planned for them. Luckily, I didn’t miss too much!

By Thursday, most of my soon-to-be relatives had arrived and we all enjoyed a wonderful picnic in Central Park. There was plenty of food to go around and the wine and bubbly were a flowin’!

Once my parents arrived on Friday, festivities were in full swing. That night, my parents, Future Wife, future in-laws, and I went to dinner. This was the first meeting between the parents. One could’ve easily thought Future Wife was an Interpreter at the UN that night as she translated everything that was said at the table…since my parents don’t know Finnish and Future Wife’s parents don’t know English or Spanish. It’s amazing, even with the language barrier, a very special bond was formed that night between two great families, which were soon to become one.

Most, if not all, wedding guests had arrived by Saturday and joined the happy couple for a pre-wedding brunch. Glasses were raised and many well wishing toasts were made. After brunch, everyone went their separate ways while we went back to the penthouse for a nap before the “bachelorette(s)” party was to commence.

We met the wedding party at a rooftop bar in mid-town. Shortly after everyone arrived, two members of the wedding party surprised us by telling us they had booked tables at the Duplex Piano Bar, this is pretty hard to come by on a Saturday night! A song was even dedicated to us! A great time was had by all! Just as good as the wedding party was in planning this fun night, they were also vigilant of the time and made sure to send us home no later than midnight so we’d be nice and rested for our BIG day.

August 8, 2010 could easily be described as the best day of my life so far. It’s the day Future Wife became a Brockmann and I became an “honorary Finn.”

That Sunday morning, as I laid next to Future Wife (against a great deal of protest from our wedding parties, we did spend our last night as “bachelorettes” together!), the only thing I could think about was how fast time really does go by; just nine months prior, I was kneeling at the end of this same bed asking Future Wife to marry me. I felt like the luckiest person in the world that morning…I still do!

The wedding parties showed up at the soon-to-be Brockmann penthouse at 1:30 pm to help us get ready and calm our nerves (oh yeah, the numerous bottles of bubbly in the fridge helped too!).

It was an extraordinarily warm afternoon when 46 of our closest relatives and friends joined together in Central Park’s Pool Lawn to witness and share in the joy of the union between a Finn and a Nicaraguan. Guests traveled many a mile to come share this very special day with us.

              

Following the ceremony, a reception was held at a great little lower east side wine bar, Cellar 58, where the Brockmanns and guests partied into the wee hours of the morning. That little wine bar will always hold a very special place in our hearts!

The next morning, the Brockmann newlyweds woke up and bid farewell to family and friends.

On August 8, 2010, this Brockmann became an honorary Finn. I couldn’t have asked for a more loving and caring Finnish family. I immediately felt right at home.

“I always knew that on my wedding day I’d feel a lot of things, but I never imagined how ready I would be to give myself to another so completely. Today, I’ve never been so sure about anything else. ♥”

D. Brockmann, Facebook status, 08/08/10

 

5 comments

  1. Janika

    My dear sister ❤
    Your wedding day was unforgettable! I`m so happy that I got a chance to be part of your special day and share all those beautiful memories!

    I`m looking forward to read more postings in this awesome blog of yours 🙂
    XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

